Updated 2026-09-22. Awesome Foundation DC shows a USD 1,000 cash-grant application for local projects. Direct benefit to Washington, DC and a near-term, tangible use of the money are the gates.
Individual credits & grants: check the project, account, or fee before the headline amount
| Status | Offer | Who can apply | Benefit | Deadline or validity | Catch | Official source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Application shown — check current cycle | Awesome Foundation DC microgrant | Individuals or small groups with a new, small project that directly benefits Washington, DC. The chapter says it looks for a project that can make an actual impact with USD 1,000 and is ready to act soon. | USD 1,000 no-strings-attached cash grant. | Exact current cutoff is not published on the reviewed chapter page. The chapter awards monthly grants and says it usually selects winners at the end of each month. | Discretionary local project funding, not general startup runway or personal-expense support. The Foundation FAQ says chapters set local terms and that personal purchases or vague applications are generally less likely to be funded. Residency rule, selection rate, and award guarantee are not published. | Official source · Foundation FAQ |
| Pack offer shown | GitHub Student Developer Pack — Stripe | Current students in a degree- or diploma-granting programme, including high school, college, university, or homeschool. GitHub requires current-status proof, a personal GitHub account, and an age of at least 13. | USD 25 in Stripe credits to offset fees on products including Stripe Payments and Billing. | Credit expiry is not published in the current Pack listing. GitHub says student validation lasts two years; that is not a Stripe-credit term. | This is a fee offset, not cash. The public listing does not state Stripe country or account eligibility, exact covered fees and products, redemption steps, expiry, or post-credit fees. Partner terms may limit repeat claims or stacking and can change. | Official source · application rules |
| Pack offer shown | GitHub Student Developer Pack — Heroku | Current students in a degree- or diploma-granting programme, including high school, college, university, or homeschool. GitHub requires current-status proof, a personal GitHub account, and an age of at least 13. | USD 13 in Heroku credit per month. | 24 months. GitHub says student validation lasts two years. | Partner offers can change and may not be redeemed twice or stacked with a partner free trial. The public listing does not state country coverage, the covered Heroku plan, monthly-credit rollover, card requirement, or post-credit bill. | Official source · application rules |
| Sign-up route shown | Oracle Cloud Free Tier | One Oracle Cloud account per email address. Choose a country, verify contact details, and use a payment-verification card. The US$300 credit is available only in select countries. | US$300 in credits for eligible OCI services, plus Always Free services. | Use the credit within 30 days of sign-up or until it is spent, whichever comes first. Always Free resources can remain while the free account stays active. | Oracle says the Home Region cannot be changed after sign-up. Free Tier availability and resource capacity can differ during sign-up; paid resources are later reclaimed without an upgrade. | Official source · sign-up terms |
| Rolling application shown | Open Technology Fund Internet Freedom Fund | Individuals or organisations of all ages irrespective of nationality, creed, or sex; applicants in countries subject to applicable United States trade restrictions or export sanctions are excluded. | USD 10,000–900,000 for up to 24 months. OTF says ideal requests are USD 50,000–200,000 for six to 12 months. | Rolling. Submit a Concept Note first; OTF estimates a response in about 6–8 weeks after it is submitted. | Only for defined internet-freedom technology, applied research, digital-security, or eligible convening projects. Awards are performance-based contracts paid against deliverables; the range is not a typical or guaranteed award. | Official source |
| Open call shown | UKRI Transformative sustainable AI technologies | Research groups and individuals. The project lead must be based at a UK research organisation eligible for UKRI funding and meet the individual eligibility rules. | Project full economic cost up to GBP 602,500; UKRI funds 80% of the cost. | Apply by 10 November 2026, 16:00 UK time. Projects start 1 February 2027 and may last up to 24 months. | This is sustainable-AI research, not a general individual or startup grant. Verify your host and role before writing; the cost ceiling is not a guaranteed award. | Official source |
| Open call shown | NLnet open-technology grant | In principle, individuals and organisations can apply. Restack gives priority to EU and Horizon Europe-associated applicants; exceptional applicants elsewhere need a clear European dimension. | EUR 5,000–50,000 for a first grant; larger support may be possible after proven potential. | 3 November 2026, 12:00 CET. | Work must fit an active fund, be primarily technical, and release software, hardware, and content under open licences. NLnet says it is not interested in AI-generated projects or proposals. | Official source |
| Sign-up route shown | AWS Free Tier | New AWS customer. AWS explicitly welcomes students, entrepreneurs, and small businesses. | Up to USD 200. | Free plan up to 6 months; credits expire 12 months after account creation. | The first USD 100 is at sign-up; the second USD 100 depends on exploration activities. | Official source |
| Sign-up route shown | Google Cloud Free Trial | Never a paying user of Google Cloud, Google Maps Platform, or Firebase; no prior Free Trial. | USD 300 Welcome credit. | 90 days. | Google account, identity and payment-method verification. Check eligible services before planning a build. | Official source |
| Sign-up route shown | Azure free account | New Azure customer in an available country. | USD 200. | 30 days. | Identity and payment verification. Azure says a country selection cannot be changed later. | Official source |
| Sign-up route shown | Azure for Students | Age 18 or older; full-time student at an accredited degree-granting two- or four-year institution; academic status verified through an organisation email. | USD 100 in Azure credits. | Within the first 12 months. | No card at sign-up, but one subscription per eligible customer. This is for education, non-commercial research, and eligible development or demonstration work; it is not an unrestricted startup budget. | Official source |
DC microgrant preflight
First test the fit: does the project directly benefit Washington, DC, does USD 1,000 buy a specific outcome, and can the work happen in the next month or two? If yes, open the live form and check the current cycle before writing. Keep a simple itemised budget and do not use the broad “no strings attached” label to imply an award is automatic, a personal-expense payment, or startup operating capital.
Student-credit preflight
Prove current enrollment before you count either Pack credit. Then check one live partner claim at a time. For Stripe, confirm the account and country fit, covered fee, expiry, and fee after credit before you connect a payment flow. For Heroku, check the plan, country, rollover, payment method, and post-credit price. A payment-fee credit and a monthly hosting credit are separate, bounded experiments; neither is a lump-sum budget.
Eligible is not the same as a fit
Oracle has a published trial, but country availability, card verification, the permanent Home Region, and capacity decide if it is a sensible test. OTF permits individuals, but it funds a defined internet-freedom effort and pays against a project contract. UKRI welcomes individuals, yet a UK research organisation must host the project lead. NLnet can fund an individual, but only an open-technology project that fits a fund. A personal eligibility label never replaces a scope, account, or host check.
Oracle preflight
Before creating the account, confirm that your country is offered, choose the Home Region for the workload you actually plan to test, identify the service that consumes the trial, check its capacity, and decide what you will export or shut down when the credit ends. Oracle says it will not charge the verification card unless you upgrade, but that does not make post-trial resources free.
Unknowns
We have not mapped every active country-specific grant, individual eligibility case, Awesome Foundation chapter cycle, GitHub-Pack partner term, payment method, product exclusion, regional capacity condition, or individual project fund. The Stripe row does not prove account access or a free payment flow in your country; the Heroku row does not prove coverage in your country or a free post-credit deployment. OTF is not a worldwide inventory of general personal grants; country-specific research remains a priority.